

San Miguel Beermen’s Mo Tautuaa dunks the basket during a play in the PBA Philippine Cup Finals against TNT Tropang 5G. The basket was later overturned. –MARLO CUETO/INQUIRER.net
The PBA said it made the right call on nullifying Mo Tautuaa’s dunk that eventually benefited TNT in its 99-96 victory over San Miguel Beer in a shocking start to the PBA Philippine Cup Finals on Sunday at Smart Araneta Coliseum.
HIGHLIGHTS: PBA Philippine Cup Finals Game 1 – TNT vs San Miguel
Deputy commissioner Eric Castro explained that Tautuaa pulled the rim after converting a slam that initially bounced off the rim with 56 seconds left which appeared to have put the Beermen up 98-97.
But it took the last five seconds, when a deadball ensued due to a jumpball, for the coliseum announcer to confirm the reversal, much to the dismay of the Beermen, particularly team governor Robert Non.
Commissioner Eric Castro explains why Mo Tautuaa’s dunk was deemed as basket interference.
According to Castro, while the ball was on its way to the basket, Tautuaa shook the ring which automatically merits as a basket interference. #PBAFinals @INQUIRERSports pic.twitter.com/qqLT86qUHK
— Rommel Fuertes Jr. (@MeloFuertesINQ) July 13, 2025
“As you can see in the replay, Mo dunked the ball in the 56 seconds, but he had pulled the ring,” Castro said in an impromptu press conference to give a clear air on what transpired in the endgame.
Castro cited rule j-5 stating that “an offensive player causes the backboard to vibrate or grasps the basket in such a way that, in the judgment of the official, the ball has been caused to enter the basket.”
READ: PBA Finals: Mo Tautuaa cries foul as review wipes off key dunk
The deputy was joined by technical committee member Bong Pascual, who also said that the rule is also being applied in Fiba competitions. Pascual was once an international referee.
“If there’s a direct impact on the shot, that’s a goaltending or basket interference,” Pascual said.
TNT would go on to win the tip, with Calvin Oftana knocking down two foul shots for the final score as CJ Perez missed a tying three at the buzzer, triggering more fireworks as Non confronted PBA officials at the technical committee table.
Non countered that a review should be done immediately, but league guidelines only allow it had the interference been called on the spot.