Sheehan receives ban for ‘reckless’ Lynagh hit




Irish hooker Dan Sheehan will miss three games for his club side Leinster after being found guilty of a reckless challenge that has knocked Tom Lynagh out of the opening rounds of the Rugby Championship.

Sheehan was cited after the Wallabies’ win over the British and Irish Lions match, having avoided any on-field sanction with the incident missed by Georgian referee Nika Amashukeli and South African TMO Marius Jonker.

Lynagh was taken from the field after the incident and failed his HIA. The Roar reported on Monday that the flyhalf is set to miss the two opening games of TRC against South Africa due to his concussion.

In a statement, World Rugby revealed Sheehan, had not accepted guilt.

“In determining the sanction, the Committee noted that in his submissions, the player had not accepted that foul play occurred and did not accept that the offence warranted the citing,” the WR statement read.

“The Committee reviewed the matter, including submissions and footage, and determined that Sheehan’s actions were contrary to Law 9.20(a) (charging into a ruck or maul).

“In determining foul play, the Committee found that Sheehan’s actions were reckless. The Committee found that he made head contact with the Australian player, that his action amounted to a high degree of danger and that no mitigation applied.”

The Independent Foul Play Review Committee (FPRC) acted under a new expedited off-field sanction process – without the attendance of the player or their representatives, or World Rugby.

“The independent FPRC has confirmed a four-match suspension (reduced to three on successful completion of the coaching intervention) to British and Irish Lions’ Dan Sheehan after determining an action contrary to Law 9.20(a) (charging into a ruck) during the British and Irish Lions final test match against Australia on 2 August, 2025. The sanction has been accepted by the player,” the statement read.

“In determining the sanction, the Committee noted that in his submissions, the player had not accepted that foul play occurred and did not accept that the offence warranted the citing. The Committee reviewed the matter, including submissions and footage, and determined that Sheehan’s actions were contrary to Law 9.20(a) (charging into a ruck or maul).

 Dan Sheehan of the British & Irish Lions attempts to evade the tackle from Harry Wilson of Australia during the third test of the series between Australia Wallabies and British & Irish Lions at Accor Stadium on August 02, 2025 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

Dan Sheehan of the British & Irish Lions attempts to evade the tackle from Harry Wilson of Australia during the third test of the series between Australia Wallabies and British & Irish Lions at Accor Stadium on August 02, 2025 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

“In determining foul play, the Committee found that Sheehan’s actions were reckless. The Committee found that he made head contact with the Australian player, that his action amounted to a high degree of danger and that no mitigation applied.

“On the basis of all the evidence before them, the Committee decided that the offending warranted the mandatory mid range entry point of six matches. The Committee decided not to award full 50% mitigation due to the non-acceptance of foul play resulting in a final sanction of four matches (reduced to three on successful completion of the coaching intervention).”

Sheehan will miss three games in the URC competition as long as he completes coaching intervention.



More From Author

Analysts see huge upside in Teva

FedExCup Playoffs: Who can stop Scottie Scheffler and Rory McIlroy? Format, prize money, TV times and how players qualify for Tour Championship | Golf News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *